2013 Stellar Award Weekend (My Thoughts)

Well, now that life and reality has set back. Stellar Weekend is officially over and done.  But I will say that I liked last year better than this year.  I had some issues over on my end so enough of that.  Everybody looked fab and watching the show, I must say my favorite performances was Tamela Mann, Leandria Johnson, and Pastor Marvin and Pastor Donnie.  Sheer disappointment also comes because I was looking for Anita Wilson to win a Stellar. Her cd, Worship Soul, was one of my favorites of 2012. And James Hall,  I need him to take home a Stellar as well. Come on ya’ll!  I did catch a USCafe event and it was dope.  I enjoyed all the artists I was able to hear.  But in actuality, there needs to be a week for the Stellars. There are so many events to go to and you have to pick and choose. I want to attend them all and there is no way.  I would also like to see Christian Hip Hop back in the mix like it was last year.  Lastly, it is the time for the indie artists to shine and get some recognition. I really want to push that because there is so much amazing talent out there not on a major label and they deserve acknowledgement as well.  My ultimate joy was seeing alot of familiar faces and meeting some of my twitter followers for the first time. That is always exciting.  I am looking for bigger and better things next year and 4gospelmusiclovas will be bringing the exclusives, so look out 2014.

Here are the official results from this year’s Stellar Awards:

Artist of the Year | Marvin Sapp, IWin, Verity Gospel Music Group
Song of the Year | Charles Jenkins, Awesome – The Best Of Both Worlds, Inspired People
Male Vocalist of the Year | Marvin Sapp, IWin, Verity Gospel Music Group
AlbertinaWalker Female Vocalist of the Year | Kierra Sheard, Free, Karew Records
Group/Duo of the Year | Mary Mary, Go Get It, My Block/Columbia Records
New Artist of the Year | Le’Andria Johnson, The Awakening Of Le’Andria Johnson, Music World Gospel
CD of the Year | Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago, The Best Of Both Worlds, Inspired People
Choir of the Year | Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago, The Best Of Both Worlds, Inspired People
Producer of the Year | Isaac Carree, Eric Dawkins, Warryn Campbell, Gerald Haddon, & Rick Robinson, Uncommon Me, Sovereign Agency/Door 6 Entertainment
Contemporary Group/Duo of the Year | Mary Mary, Go Get It, My Block/Columbia Records
Traditional Group/Duo of the Year | The Williams Brothers, Live At The Hard Rock – Part 1, Blackberry Records
Contemporary Male of the Year | Fred Hammond, God, Love & Romance, Verity Gospel Music Group
Traditional Male of the Year | Marvin Sapp, IWin, Verity Gospel Music Group
Contemporary Female of the Year | Le’Andria Johnson, The Awakening Of Le’Andria Johnson, Music World Gospel
Traditional Female of the Year | Vanessa Bell Armstrong, Timeless, Music World Gospel
Contemporary CD of the Year | Mary Mary, Go Get It, My Block/Columbia Records
Traditional CD of the Year | Marvin Sapp, IWin, Verity Gospel Music Group
Urban/Inspirational Single or Performance of the Year | Mary Mary, Go Get It – Go Get It, My Block/Columbia Records
Music Video of the Year – Short Format | Darren Grant, Go Get It – Go Get It, My Block/Columbia Records
Traditional Choir of the Year | Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago, The Best of Both Worlds, Inspired People
Special Event CD of the Year | Mary Mary, Go Get It, My Block/Columbia Records
Rap Hip Hop Gospel CD of the Year | Da T.R.U.T.H., The Whole Truth, XIST Music/Black Fuel Entertainment
Childrens Project of the Year | Anointed By God, Anointed By God, One Voice Media
Quartet of the Year | The Williams Brothers, Live At The Hard Rock – Part 1, Blackberry Records
Recorded Music Packaging of the Year | Charles Jenkins, The Best Of Both Worlds, Inspired People
Praise And Worship CD of the Year | Jason Nelson, Shifting The Atmosphere, Verity Gospel Music Group

Well let the gospel music year continue, let’s go………….

2 thoughts on “2013 Stellar Award Weekend (My Thoughts)

Leave a Reply

